Thursday morning, the Trump administration announced newly imposed sanctions against Russia in retaliation for meddling in the 2016 U.S. presidential elections, along with other malicious cyberattacks.

The sanctions have been imposed upon five Russian organizations and 19 individuals that were previously listed in special counsel Robert Mueller’s indictment, prohibiting them from traveling to the U.S., freezing assets in the country, and banning any American individuals or companies from doing business with them.

The sanctions came the day after Great Britain had ordered 23 Russian diplomats out of the country over the poisoning attack against a former Russian spy and his daughter in England.

The New York Times reported:

The sanctions came at the same time the Trump administration joined a collective statement with Britain, France and Germany on Thursday denouncing Russia for its apparent role in a nerve gas attack on a former Russian spy and his daughter on British soil, calling it a “clear violation” of international law. But the statement included no joint action in response.

The American sanctions announced on Thursday targeted many of the same Russian organizations and operatives identified by Robert S. Mueller III, the special counsel, in an indictment that outlined an audacious attempt to spread disinformation and propaganda to disrupt American democracy and, eventually, influence the vote on behalf of Mr. Trump. The sanctions also responded to other cyberattacks, including a previously undisclosed attempt to penetrate the American energy grid.

“The administration is confronting and countering malign Russian cyberactivity, including their attempted interference in U.S. elections, destructive cyberattacks, and intrusions targeting critical infrastructure,” Treasury Secretary Steven T. Mnuchin said in a statement. “These targeted sanctions are a part of a broader effort to address the ongoing nefarious attacks emanating from Russia.”

From the Treasury Department website:

CAATSA – Russia-related Designations; Cyber-related Designations and Designations Updates; Russia/Ukraine-related Designations Updates
Today, the Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) is amending Cyber General License No. 1, “Authorizing Certain Transactions with the Federal Security Service” (GL 1), and reissuing it as Cyber General License No. 1A (GL 1A) in connection with the designation of the Federal Security Service (a.k.a. Federalnaya Sluzhba Bezopasnosti) (a.k.a. FSB) under Section 224 of the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA). The changes to GL 1 are limited to adding CAATSA authorities. OFAC is also publishing four updated FAQs relating to GL 1A and one updated CAATSA-related FAQ relating to today’s action. In addition, OFAC has added/updated the following names on its SDN List.

For more on this story, click the "read more" button below.